University of Minnesota
UMore Park

UMore Park: University of Minnesota Outreach, Research and Education Park

Academic Mission Advisory Board

Providing support to the executive director, the Academic Mission Advisory Board helps to identify opportunities and further the integration of University research, education and public engagement into the planning and development of the UMore Park property. The membership represents the range of interests and expertise across the colleges, coordinate campuses, interdisciplinary centers, and outreach and public engagement programs. The Board is committed to supporting the University's goals for diversity and multiculturalism.

Announcement of new membership (142 KB PDF)

Current members
John R. Finnegan, Jr., Chair, Assistant Vice President for Public Health, Dean and Professor, School of Public Health
Larry Baker, Research Professor, Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
Jay Bell, Associate Dean, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
Marilyn Bruin, Associate Professor, College of Design
Mee Cheng, Graduate student, School of Public Health
Jeff Corney, Managing Director, Cedar Creek Ecosystems Science Reserve, College of Biological Sciences
Patricia Frazier, Distinguished McKnight University Professor of Psychology
Carolyn Garcia, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Michael Greco, Program Manager, Center for Urban and Regional Affairs
Laura Hudson, Undergraduate student, Retail Merchandising, Design & Management, College of Design
Bolormaa Jamiyansuren, Ph.D. candidate, Applied Economics
Steve Kelley, Senior Fellow, Director, Center for Science, Technology and Public Policy, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Alexandra Klass, Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Solly Robins Distinguished Research Fellow
Mary Jo Kreitzer, Director, Center for Spirituality and Healing, Professor, School of Nursing
Allen Levine, Immediate Past Chair, Dean, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences
Kristen Mastel, Outreach and Instructional Librarian, University Libraries
Dean Porter, Graduate student, Urban and Regional Planning, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Connie Rutledge, Associate Director, Carlson Venture Enterprise, Carlson School of Management
Angie Scott, Ph.D. candidate, Interior Design, College of Design
Richard Strong, Senior Research Fellow, Center for Sustainable Building Research, Adjunct Professor, College of Design
Peggy Sundermeyer, Executive Director of Research Advancement, Office for the Vice President of Research
Bill Toscano, Professor and Division Head, Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health

Ex officio
Carla Carlson, Executive Director, UMore Development LLC
Amy Short, Sustainability Director, University Services

Past members
John Adams, Professor Emeritus of Geography, College of Liberal Arts (founding member - 2011)
Noro Andriamanalina, Director of Academic and Professional Development, Office for Equity and Diversity and the Graduate School (2011 - 2013)
Rebecca Brown, Graduate student, Urban and Regional Planning, Humphrey School of Public Affairs (2011 - 2012)
Steve Carnes, Office for Student Affairs (2011 - 2013)
Ann Hill Duin, Associate Vice President and Associate CIO, Office of Information Technology (founding member - 2011)
Andrew Furco, Associate Vice President for Public Engagement
Arthur Huang, Graduate student, Civil Engineering, Institute of Technology (founding member - 2011)
Kristi Kremers, Graduate student, Educational Policy and Administration, College of Education and Human Development (founding member - 2011)
Meredith McQuaid, Associate Vice President and Dean, Global Programs and Strategy Alliance (founding member - 2011)
Laura Molgaard, Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, College of Veterinary Medicine (founding member - 2011)
Scott Morton, Undergraduate student, Mechanical Engineering, College of Science and Engineering (2011 - 2012)
Ed Nater, Professor, Department of Soil, Water and Climate, College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences (founding member - 2011)
Thomas Norman, Senior Director for Research, Innovation and Outreach, College of Education and Human Development (founding member - 2011)
Sheila Riggs, Director, Office for Healthcare Transformation, Academic Health Center and Chair, Department of Primary Care, School of Dentistry
Bob Sterner, Professor, College of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
Dan Svedarsky, Director, Center for Sustainability, University of Minnesota - Crookstron and Research Biologist, NW Research and Outreach Center
Deborah Swackhamer, Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health and Co-Director of the Water Resources Center and Charles M. Denny, Jr. Chair for Science Technology and Public Policy, Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs (founding member - 2012)
Elizabeth Turner, Graduate student, Architecture and Sustainable Design, College of Design (2011 - 2012)

Past Announcements
March 2011 new member appointments (17 KB PDF)
November 2008 Academic Mission Advisory Board created (14 KB PDF)